The Typical ‘Welcome’ Post

AINTNO

Hello, all and welcome to The Y’all Historian! Right off the bat, you should have some indication that this is not your typical blog about history; oh, far from it. I have a love for linguistics and history as a whole; namely, American and Southern history (hence the name The “Y’all” Historian). Now, am I Historian? Yes, yes I am. Merriam-Webster defines a Historian as: a person who studies or writes about history(1). Hey, I do both of those things! But for real, I am about to graduate with a double degree in History and English (good news – I have a full-time job in Marketing). Any who, no matter what you choose to describe me as, know that this blog will be about different aspects of the South, namely Tennessee. I’ll cover a wide range of topics, such as local events (like Mule Day, Portland Strawberry Festival), outdoor adventures, historical sites (including haunted venues), local eateries, and tons more. Sound like I am covering current events and not historical events? Guess what, smart butt – history is happening all around us; right now! It has a name, and it isn’t Modern History. It’s Contemporary History, mind you. And hopefully, by viewing my blog, you’ll go out and make some “Y’all” history of your own!

One thought on “The Typical ‘Welcome’ Post

Leave a comment